You don’t have to give me the “stink eye!!”

Humor is a “must have” in any relationship.  Without humor and laughter, life would not be worth the effort.  And, humor can turn a battlefield into a walk in the park.  A few months ago, Jane and I got into a heated argument.  Passions were running high and each of us was firmly entrenched in our opposite positions.  A few swear words were probably exchanged, tempers ran hot, and emotion was pushing us to the edge.  Then, in response to something Jane said, I must have given her a dirty look.  Immediately,  she responded indignantly, ” Well, you don’t have to give me the stink eye!!”

I was so taken back and befuddled, after a couple of seconds, I  asked, “What the fuck is a “stink eye?”  I guess it was the look on our faces as she tried to explain the term “stink eye” that caused  us to almost simultaneously begin to laugh!  And laugh…and laugh!  Tears were streaming down my cheeks and I could barely get my breath as I convulsed in laughter!  After a couple of minutes, all we could do was give each other a hug and the argument was a thing of the past.  In fact, neither of us can remember what the argument was about!  That is the power of humor and laughter in relationships.

So, the next time you are getting into it with your spouse, try to remember that it is probably not nearly as important as it seems at the time.  Try to find the humor!  We don’t remember the argument; but, we will never forget  the “stink eye!”

One response to “You don’t have to give me the “stink eye!!”

  1. Truer words have never been spoken.

Leave a Reply

